Lions star cited over Lynagh hit
British & Irish Lions hooker Dan Sheehan has been cited for a dangerous cleanout that left Wallabies flyhalf Tom Lynagh concussed and out of action during the third Test in Sydney.
READ: ‘Proud’ Schmidt hails Wallabies grit
The Irish No 2 charged into a breakdown in the first half of the series finale, appearing to strike Lynagh in the head with his elbow. Despite the clear contact and Lynagh failing his head injury assessment (HIA), the incident was somehow missed by both the referee and the TMO.
Tom Lynagh flattened by elbow to the head. #AUSvBIL pic.twitter.com/RUtfCOGU4W
— Jobson Growthe (@electricBAU) August 2, 2025
World Rugby, however, has stepped in.
“British and Irish Lions player Dan Sheehan will have a citing complaint reviewed by an Independent Foul Play Review Committee after being cited by the independent citing commissioner Adrien Menez for an act of foul play contrary to Law 9.20 (a),” a statement read.
Wallabies coach Joe Schmidt said his staff only became aware of the hit well after the playmaker had left the field.
“We didn’t see Tom’s incident, and it was probably a little bit later that we got a glimpse of it,” said Schmidt.
“There’s always a difficulty for a TMO. He’s watching the main TV broadcast, and then if he doesn’t pick it up there, he doesn’t access the other angles because everything’s happening so quickly.”
The Sydney Test was marred by dreadful weather and a growing casualty list.
Lions captain Maro Itoje also failed a concussion test, while fellow lock James Ryan was stretchered off after a heavy collision during a tackle.
The Test – won 22-12 by the Wallabies – marked the end of a bruising three-match series.
Photo: David Rogers/Getty Images